Representing the USA at the CSW…

Solana Larsen

Sorry to keep going on about the American stuff, but I got an email from Condoleeza Rice that I wanted to share with you (OK, it was a press release).

The US Department of State announced the appointment of three individuals to their delegation for the CSW. Who are they? Lisa Guillermin Gable of Upperville, Virginia, Darlene Bramon of Hailey, Idaho, and Pia Francesca de Solenni of Washington, D.C.

Bramon is a major fundraiser for Bush, and so is Guillermin Gable. Both are succesful business women, and Guillermin Gable is a member of Women Corporate Directors. Ooh well, that should make them qualified to take democratic global decisions on women in poverty, shouldn’t it?

The real star is Pia Francesca de Solenni. She won an award from the Vatican for her pHD thesis. Guess what it’s about.

If you think your rights as a woman are secure, you are kidding yourself.

5 Responses to “Representing the USA at the CSW…”


  1. 1 Jess March 2, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    Won an award from the Vatican? I didn’t even know it was possible. I bet she’s not really pro-choice now, is she?

  2. 3 Judy March 2, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    I am sensing a bit of sarcasm here. I don’t know whether these women are or are not pro-choice, but when did that become the litmus test for working on poverty issues?

    I personally know of the efforts of Lisa Gable to support Women in the Military and her consulting firm originated from the need to allow working mothers more freedom to work the hours they want, while maintaining a productive work life. I applaud the choices she has made her career and congratulate all 3 of these women on their appointment.

  3. 4 statusofwomen March 2, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    Apologies for the sarcasm. It’s nothing personal against these professional hard-working women.

    It’s just there are hundreds of organizations fighting for women’s rights – or even individuals who have dedicated their lives to women’s rights – who would seem much better suited than somebody who happens to be a succesful, wealthy woman (and a funder of President Bush). Consulting for the military just isn’t the same as being dedicated to upholding Resolution 1325.

    Seems to me to be undermining the process – but that’s just because I agree with the the Resolution, and reproductive freedom, and lots of other hard won women’s rights to come out of the UN process. I would love to be proven wrong. Show me a track record of true sensibility and knowledge of the issues facing women in the developing world, or even poor women in the United States, and I will eat my blog.

    Personally, I believe the right to safe, legal abortion is crucial to women’s empowerment. I am of course aware, others disagree.

    Solana

  4. 5 Tracy March 4, 2007 at 5:49 am

    I’m sorry I’m not as well informed as should be but is there any way to petition the UN to allow represetatives from other powerful US organizations, and not just government appointees? Are there any powerful feminist lobbying groups in the US?

    I’m in the czech republic.


Leave a Reply

